Cake mixer

A few years ago, my grandparents very kindly gave me a rather substantial amount of money. While I was very prudent and put most of it into my savings account, I did allow myself a little bit of fun. After much enjoyable deliberation over what I should buy, I settled on a cake mixer, for the reasons that 1) I didn’t have one and had always wanted one, 2) it would not be a completely selfish purchase, and 3) it would be something I would use all the time (and I do).

I picked the latest model from Breville. While those outside of Australia and New Zealand may not have heard of this brand (it being less well known than Kenwood and KitchenAid, the kitchen equivalents of Bentley and Cadillac), this little Antipodean was not only cheaper, it was the only cake mixer (at the time) to include the revolutionary scraper beater.

The mixing blade has a rubber edge (see picture below), so that while it is happily mixing away, the rubber parts scrape the sides of the bowl down. Much like a car’s windscreen wiper blade in action, is how I would describe it. This ingenious design means that I can just pile ingredients in, and while the mixer is busy churning away, I can get on with something else without having to come back repeatedly to manually scrape the sides of the bowl down. Which can be quite time consuming, as you have to stop the machine and lift the beater head up from the bowl each time, and almost negates the convenience of having a machine to do the mixing for you.

Of course, like other cake mixers, it comes with the usual paddle mixer, dough hook, and balloon whisk. Risking sounding like the baking equivalent of an obsessive car guy here, it has the desirable planetary mixing action, a generous 4.7 L capacity stainless steel bowl, and is quite powerful at 1000 Watts. It also comes in a multitude of colours, and has a very convenient storage compartment for the power cable, much like vacuum cleaners have. More details can be found on the official website.

Since making this purchase, I haven’t looked back once. It makes my baking life so much easier and more enjoyable, and I have tried out many recipes that my old equipment-less self could not attempt, including home-made breads, or more complex cakes that have multiple separate components that require mixing. If you enjoy baking often, I implore you to get a cake mixer, and I highly (and proudly) recommend this particular one.

3 thoughts on “Cake mixer

  1. Pingback: French apple cream cheese tarts | Food for the troubled soul

  2. Pingback: World’s most awesome whisk | Food for the troubled soul

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Hanukkah scrolls | Food for the troubled soul

Leave a Reply

