White chocolate, coconut, almond cookies

I wanted to make something with white chocolate, and settled on the white chocolate pistachio cookies recipe from Nigella’s Domestic Goddess. I didn’t have any pistachios on hand, but wasn’t going to let that stop me… I thought I could improvise with what I had in the pantry, which turned out to be almonds and coconut.

100 g butter (I used 90 g)
125 g caster sugar (100 g)
100 g soft brown sugar (70 g)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
150 g flour
1 tsp baking soda
100 g ground postachios (150 g ground almonds)
125 g whole pistachios (50 g long desiccated coconut)
125 g white chocolate, roughly chopped

Preheat oven to 180°C. Line two baking trays with baking paper.

Cream the butter with both sugars. Beat in the vanilla and egg. Mix in the flour and baking soda to form a smooth dough. Stir in the nuts and chocolate.

Break off walnut-sized pieces of dough and roll into balls. I got 36 out of this mixture, same as what Nigella’s recipe states. Place ~4 cm apart on the baking trays, and bake for 10-12 minutes. They will expand a fair bit, and turn a darkish golden colour on the tops and edges.

These are light and chewy, with contrasting textures between the cookie base, white chocolate, and the occasional coconut strand. I think they are quite cute in their smallness (without being stingy), although then it’s hard to just eat one.

I will try to make the original recipe one day, just for curiosity’s sake, but I do quite like my version, and am more than a little proud of myself – I know it’s only a slight variation based on someone else’s recipe, and they are just simple cookies, but still. My AW (who is brutally honest in vocalizing his opinions about my kitchen antics) says I must not change a thing as they are perfect. Double satisfaction!

Update on 20/12/2015

Here is the next iteration of these cookies I made for Christmas, with pistachios, cranberries, and dark chocolate.

One thought on “White chocolate, coconut, almond cookies

  1. Pingback: Pistachio, cranberry, and dark chocolate cookies | Food for the troubled soul

Leave a Reply

