White chocolate cupcakes

I received some darling cupcake papers for my birthday, all the way from England – thank you Jenna! – and found myself in a small predicament. I have no standard round muffin trays with which to use them, as I only have heart-shaped ones. With some loyalty points due to expire, my problem was solved with a bit of online redeeming and a gleaming Le Creuset muffin tray was delivered a few days later. It’s like my birthday all over again…!

Muffin tray

In happy anticipation of the tray’s arrival, I flicked through a few cook books for inspiration… what should I make when it does? There were several contenders, but in the end, I settled on #45: white chocolate cupcakes, from my cute little book, 1 Mix, 100 Cakes (by Christine France).

  • Chocolate sprinkles, a childhood favourite of mine… ✓
  • White chocolate chips, an adulthood favourite of mine… ✓
  • No colour clashes between cupcake and cupcake paper (a very first-world problem, I know)… ✓
  • And who can say no to this picture…? Not me.

#45

This recipe makes 12 dome-shaped cupcakes – you can of course make smaller, flat-topped cupcakes (like Christine’s), and you’ll get more than 12 out of this, the number naturally depending on how much batter you put into each paper. I admit the flat tops look prettier, but then I’m not one to put aesthetics over quantity – I want a cupcake that satisfies, not teensie ones that make me feel like I need to eat more. I go on about this so you can make informed decisions about how you want your cupcakes to look, and how many.

Cupcakes

120g each of flour, caster sugar, and softened butter
1 tsp baking powder
2 eggs, beaten
1 tsp vanilla extract
100g white chocolate chips

  1. Preheat the oven to 190°C. Line muffin tray with papers.
  2. Mix the flour, sugar, and baking power together in a bowl.
  3. Add in the butter, eggs and vanilla, and mix to combine. Don’t be tempted to overmix, as that results in a hard cake.
  4. Stir in the white chocolate chips.
  5. Spoon the mixture into the papers, and bake for around 15 minutes to a golden brown.

Cupcake papers from Jenna

Topping

100g white chocolate
Chocolate sprinkles

Once the cupcakes have cooled completely, melt the white chocolate. Spoon over the cupcakes and add the sprinkles.

No surprises here what these taste like – little wee vanilla cakes with white chocolate drops – and to be honest the topping is not necessary in terms of taste or looks (photo above). However, the topping does add that special final touch (photo below). So here are your cupcakes Jenna, I’m just sorry I can’t send you the real thing:

White chocolate cupcakes

And here was my one… 🙂

Eaten cupcake

Side note

When making these cupcakes, I also made use of yet another birthday present (from Shaun and Eric), this cute little chocolate melting pot. So handy – I love the perfect little size and the pouring spouts. Thanks guys!

Chocolate melting pot

One thought on “White chocolate cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Pear and ginger muffins | Food for the troubled soul

Leave a Reply

