Citrus yoghurt almond cupcakes

This recipe is a happy accident. While baking one day, I realised far too late that I didn’t have enough flour (gasp!!). The only other thing I had on hand was ground almonds, so in that went as a substitute.

I have posted the original recipe before, twice in fact (lemon baby bundt cakes and mini lime bundt cakes). But I’ve also make these cakes using muffin trays, and wanted to share the recipe again in case the lack of bundt tins is a deterrent. It really is a very simple recipe that uses one small saucepan with some light whisking. I hope you will try it out.

The following amount makes 18 cupcakes (I made 12 large hearts and 6 small rounds – see photos below), and can easily be halved to make 12 standard round cupcakes

Cakes
150 g butter
250 to 300 mL yogurt (i.e. 2 pottles, low fat is fine)
2 pinches of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
Zest of 2 limes or 1 lemon (optional)
4 eggs
240 g sugar
50 g ground almonds (optional, or use 300 g flour in total)
250 g flour
1 tsp baking soda

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C. Oil or line the muffin trays.
  2. Melt the butter in a small saucepan. Let cool slightly.
  3. Add the yogurt, eggs, and salt (and zest if using). Whisk together thoroughly.
  4. Add sugar, ground almonds, flour and baking soda; mix well.
  5. Divide the batter among the tins and bake for 20 to 25 minutes.
  6. Cool in the tins for a few minutes before turning them out to cool completely on a rack.

Icing
200-250 g icing sugar
1.5 tbs lime or lemon juice
Just boiled water

  1. Add the juice to the icing sugar, and just enough hot water to make a thick, spreadable paste.
  2. Spread the icing onto each cake and decorate as desired. I opted for little sugar flowers that I got from the supermarket.

Citrus yoghurt almond cupcakes 2

The cakes are fluffy in texture as one would expect from yogurt cakes, but they feel more substantial to eat on account of the ground almonds. I love the icing made with lime juice and that’s how I always make them now, although lemon juice is perfectly fine. I usually use lime juice from a bottle, so I don’t have any zest to add to the cake batter. For this almond version, I added a little vanilla extract – I wouldn’t bother for the almond-less version.

Citrus yoghurt almond cupcakes 1

Thank you to my friend JM who gave me the lovely paper cases, which I only use for special occasions. The cupcakes in this photo were made for a combined birthday dinner for my sister and I.

One thought on “Citrus yoghurt almond cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Grapefruit bundt cake | Food for the troubled soul

Leave a Reply

