Easy waffles

I love maple syrup. It’s one of my favourite things in the world. I don’t buy it very often, simply because I will then obsessively use it with everything – chorizo sausages, bacon, ice cream, yogurt, apple pie, and of course, waffles.

Recently I replaced my waffle iron (for those interested, I got the Breville Crisp Control). I do usually try out the recipes that come with the equipment, assuming that they are tested by the manufacturers and therefore must be at least decent. However, I often don’t have the patience to whisk up egg whites separately or even to melt butter (a combination of laziness and need for instant gratification), so I just put the eggs in whole and use vegetable oil instead of butter. This recipe that I adapted from Breville makes 8 to 9 waffles, using approximately 1/2 cup of batter for each waffle and my newly acquired waffle iron.

340 g flour
2.5 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
3 tbs caster sugar
125 ml vegetable oil (I usually use grapeseed)
3 eggs
1.5 cups milk
1.5 tsp vanilla extract

  1. Preheat the waffle iron.
  2. Add all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl, . Whisk around a bit to evenly distribute everything.
  3. In a jug, add the oil, eggs, 1/2 cup of the milk, and vanilla; whisk until smooth. Add in the remaining milk and whisk again.
  4. Pour the liquid ingredients into the dry; whisk until smooth. Honourable mention here for the best whisk I have ever owned – this rather large amount of batter takes hardly a minute to mix thoroughly.
  5. Pour almost 1/2 cup of batter onto the waffle iron and cook according to manufacturer’s instructions and personal preference.
  6. Repeat for each waffle until the batter is used up.

img_20170219_143122

I tend to make a batch as above, eating the first one while I cook the rest (don’t judge me!). Then I will cool the rest completely on a wire rack, and store them with sheets of baking paper in between in an airtight container in the fridge. When I next want a waffle, I just pop one into the toaster to heat up.

img_20170219_142920

Just a quick note on the waffle iron itself. It does the job well, I like the timer function to vary crispness, and the relatively small size of the machine. It’s price is mid-range, but I’ve often seen it on sale. If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know that I really enjoy the little heart shapes.

Leave a Reply

